Typed out by Pete Llanso


Special message ............................ 2
Safety Precautions ......................... 3
Getting Started ............................ 4
Controller ................................. 5
Controlling Willow ......................... 6
Energy Screen ............................. 8
Status Screen .............................. 9
The Willow Story ........................... 10
Items ...................................... 11
Characters of the Game ..................... 12
Hints and Points to Remember .. ............ 14
Hints/Scoring/Memo ......................... 15
Compliance with FCC Regulations............. 16
90-day Limited Warranty .................... 17


Insert the WILLOW GAME PAK and turn on your Nintendo Entertainment
System. The title page will appear with background information about
the story. Press start and follow the instructions to load the game.
If you have not played the game before, press start and your adventure
will begin in the land of the Nelwyns. If you have played before, go to
the password section and the correct password will allow you to begin
close to where you left off before.


Controller #1 - Moves Willow
Button A: Uses available magic.
Button B: Uses available sword.

Control Pad:
Each tip is imprinted with a letter to show direction of movement:
| Four Separate Action Tips
L ----- R Pressing any of four tips moves you and player moves that direction.

(- Moves Willow left.
-) Moves Willow right.
| Moves Willow upward.
\/ Moves Willow down.

Throughout the game Willow will be collecting several weapons, shields,
magical devices, and special items. He needs to use these to defend himself
on his mission. To access any item:

1. Press start.
2. Select either: sword, shield, magic, or item.
3. Press A.
4. Select the item that you wish to be armed with by putting it in the brackets.
5. Press A or B.
6. The item in use will be next to the category that you chose it from.
7. Return to the game by pressing start.

Willow must be shown carrying a sword or holding a shield in order to use
them. He must also have a magic device "loaded" in order to operate it.

There are two sword attacks that Willow can use.

The first is a jab or stabbing attack. To do this, press the B button while
pressing the control pad in the direction that you wish to attack.

The other sword move is a slashing swipe of the blade. This happens when
the B button is pressed while Willow is stationary.

Once a magic item device is loaded it can be fired by pressing the A button.
Every magic item uses Magic Points (shown on the play screen as MP).
Be careful, once you have used up your available magic points, you will
not be able to use any magic until they are replenished.

This screen appears while the game is in progress. The number at the top
of the screen tells you what Willow's level is. The more enemies that he
fights, the higher the level gets.

EXP stands for experience points. Various encounters and battles will raise
his experience points.

HP stands for health points. If the total reaches zero, Willow dies (the game is
over). These points can be renewed by visiting friendly people and places in the game.

MP stands for magic points. If the total reaches zero, Willow will not be able
to use any magic. These points can also be renewed by visiting friendly
people and places.

Information here is the same as the Energy screen, but more detailed. The
numbers to the right side of Level, Exper, HP, and MP are the maximum
amounts that the character has earned so far. The numbers on the left are
the current totals.

"STR", "DEF", and "AGI" are status indicators for swords, shields, and magic
devices. They stand for strength, defense, and agility.

It is a time of great turmoil to the world. Bavmorda, a former messenger
from the Spirit of the Skies, has turned towards evil. Her plan is to rule
the world through her twisted magics. Her force is incredible and her
armies are unstoppable. She even dared to transform Fin Raziel, the
messenger from the Spirit of the Earth, into a small animal. Bavmorda
believes that there is no one that can stop her.

But she had not heard of the tribe of the Nelwyns. There had been a prophecy
among these people that one of their tribe would help lead the world out of
its darkest hour. The High Aldwyn, the wizard of the Nelwyn tribe, recognized
Willow Ufgood as the chosen one. The adventure begins for Willow as he leaves
his family and friends and sets out to stop all of the evil that Bavmorda has created.

Swords: There are many different types of swords that Willow will
obtain in his travels. Each of them have their own strengths and weaknesses.
The best strategy is to experiment with the swords that he has to determine
which will work best against each of his foes.

Shields: There are also a variety of shields that Willow can collect
during his journey. They all provide defense against his enemies, yet
again, some are better equipped to defend him than others.

Magical There are several magical spells, weapons, and healing items
that will allow Willow to defend and
Devices: heal himself. They can only be used one at a time, however,
and they all use up Magic Points.

Special These, once collected, are always in the possession of Willow.
He will be able to use their powers
Items: repeatedly without using up Magic Points. Many of the enemies
that he will face will ask him to find the various items throughout the game.

WILLOW: The hero and player character of the game. Willow Ufgood was a
farmer in the Nelwyn village before the High Aldwyn asked him to help rid
the world of Bavmorda's evil magic. His experience as a fighter and a
sorcerer shall grow as he sets out on his quest.

MADMARTIGAN: Warrior of the Daikini Clan that has the same purpose as
Willow. If you meet up with him during your journey he will be a strong
ally. Madmartigan is a great swordsman.

SORSHA: Bavmorda's daughter. Willow must find a way to turn Sorsha
away from her mother and aid him in destroying the evil in the world.

BROWNIES: A comical pair that suddenly appear during Willow's journey.
Franjean and Rool will help Willow with important information.

FIN RAZIEL: A messenger from the Spirit of the Earth. Trapped in the form
of an opposum, Fin Raziel needs Willow's help to change her back to her human
form. Once changed, she can aid in the battle to overthrow the wicked Bavmorda.

GENERAL KAEL: The strongest of Bavmorda's warriors. Willow must find a
way to defeat the General before he can defy the evil Queen.

TROLL: These horrible half-man, half-monsters will eat anything. Including
wandering adventurers. Willow hates trolls more than any of the monsters
in the wilds.

PO: A large bird creature that is the pet of an old woman. He is a friend of
Willow and can aid him in a special way.

Willow can only walk on the pathways.

To continue dialog with the people or creatures, press the A or B buttons.

When Willow is in the wilderness, the monsters will appear when the wind
begins to blow.

You can walk through the ghosts as they are splitting into more ghosts.

Many creature are best avoided instead of fought.

Willow must be at least 13th level to change Fin Raziel back to human.
Game Counselors available 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at (408) 727-1665